What’s new?


Last winter, shooting wrapped up for a documentary on Louise Lecavalier directed by Raymond St-Jean and produced by Michel Ouellette (producer of two other films spotlighting the dancer). Illustrated by dance scenes recreated especially for the camera, the film is a mosaic-like, close-up portrait of the artist, who mines her own life to nourish her art, through joys, encounters, friendships, and challenges. Entitled Louise Lecavalier – In Motion, the film premiered in September at the Quebec City Film Festival and in October at the Vancouver International Film Festival. Theatrical release on March 30, 2018 in Montreal, Quebec city and Sherbrooke. The film was named the ex-æquo winner of the prize for Best Dance Film of the Year by the French professional association of theatre, music, and dance critics on June 18, in Paris. Filmoption


Louise Lecavalier receives an honorary doctorate from l’Université du Québec à Montréal

Montreal, December 15, 2017 — L’Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM) honoured Louise Lecavalier this evening, awarding her an honorary doctorate in recognition of her prodigious creativity and the international resonance of her talent. The ceremony took place at the presentation of Quelque chose de sauvage by the graduating students of the Dance Department of UQAM. On this occasion, a tribute praising Louise Lecavalier was read by UQAM’s rector, Robert Proulx.

Salle de Presse – UQAM


Louise Lecavalier, winner of the 2017 Prix Denise-Pelletier

Artist emerita of dance Louise Lecavalier is this year’s winner of the Prix Denise-Pelletier, the most prestigious distinction given by the Government of Quebec in the area of the performing arts. Louise Lecavalier will receive the prize from Marie Montpetit, Ministre de la Culture et des Communications and Ministre responsable de la Protection et de la Promotion de la langue française, at an official ceremony that will be held at the Hôtel du Parlement in Quebec City.

Louise joins Ludmilla Chiriaeff (1980), Fernand Nault (1984), Jeanne Renaud (1988), Vincent Warren (1992), Martine Époque (1994), Édouard Lock (2002), Anik Bissonnette (2008) and Marie Chouinard (2010), her illustrious predecessors in the field of dance, all winners of the Prix Denise-Pelletier, inaugurated in 1977.

Photo: André Cornellier


Scroll left



City / Country

Theater / Festival


Mon vidéo